Initial Thoughts: NieR (2010)

Posted: January 11, 2015 in Initial Thoughts
Tags: , , , ,

I think I’m going to like this game. It reminds me a lot of FFXII and older Tomb Raider games – on map battles and lots of puzzles to solve. And, like most Square Enix games, the soundtrack is brilliant.
In fact, I was being won over before I’d started playing; the very first line dialogue in the game is shouted at you by an angry-sounding young woman and liberally sprinkled with profanity.
The tutorial level is set in 2049 and lets you experience the kind of manic, seemingly endless battles that you will encounter throughout the game. You are the father and you are fighting the monsters to protect your young daughter. But something happens and, for some reason (I haven’t worked it out yet), the next time we see them is 1300 years in the future. The mystery deepens… and I’m looking forward to solving it!

Leave a Reply

